If you're ever accused of possessing or selling marijuana in Michigan, it's crucial to understand the state's drug laws. This is especially true if you don't think you broke the law -- perhaps you thought you had legally obtained the marijuana based on medical needs -- but is always important regardless of the facts of the case.
First of all, illegal possession in Michigan is a misdemeanor. The penalty could net you an entire year behind bars, however. On top of that, you could be fined as much as $2,000. Don't let the fact that it's a misdemeanor make you think the ramifications aren't serious.
If you sell marijuana, the penalties depend on the amount. It's a felony regardless, but selling less than 20 plants or 5 kilograms could get you four years in jail and/or a fine of up to $20,000, while selling more than 5 kilograms but less than 45 kg. could get you a fine of $500,000 and/or seven years in jail. If you break that 45 kg. barrier, you could then be looking at a fine of $10,000,000 and a jail term of up to 15 years.
Things get even more strict if you sell the marijuana near a school or to a minor. In that case, the state can double the sentence. So even a small sale could have you looking at eight years and a fine of $40,000.
Medical marijuana is legal in Michigan, as long as you have a doctor's recommendation and the proper card. You can have as much as 2.5 ounces at once, or you can grow as many as 12 of your own plants to use yourself.
This helps you get started if you're facing marijuana charges. If you have further questions or want to learn more, our website has a lot of helpful information.